Tags

, ,


MY SITES

Question: I don’t want all my users to create mysites and/or use social features. How can I accomplish this?
Answer: The “Manage User Permissions” link (under “People” category) in the User Profile Service Application’s Central Admin page provides ACLs to accomplish this.
Question: How can I delete a tag or note from the system?
Answer: If someone leaves you a note on your profile, you can directly delete it from the profile page itself. For a noteboard on a team site, a user with full control permissions can delete notes directly. A user profile admin can also delete tags and notes from the user profile service application’s central admin page, by using the link “Manage Social Tags and Notes” at the bottom of the page.
Question: I’d like to create different profiles, for example for a full time employee vs interns. How can I accomplish this.
Answer:
2010 has a new concept of ‘sub-types’. These sub-types can be used to selectively use existing or custom properties for different types of user profiles.

Question: Why is there nothing showing in anyone’s Newsfeed?
Answer:
By default, the timer jobs which fill in this information are disabled. You need to enable the Activity Feed Job and the Activity Feed Cleanup Job for data to appear here. Please refer to the planning documentation for complete information about this.

Question: I did what you said earlier, but now there’s no Tags or Notes in the Newsfeed. What’s happening?
Answer:
Tags and Notes (as well as a few other things) are Security Trimmed in the Newsfeed. This relies on Search, so if Search has not run recently you will not get the right data. After completing a Search Crawl, people will be able to see Tags and Notes in the Newsfeed.

Question: A user’s name has changed in AD and in their User Profile, but it is still the old one in the Welcome menu on sites. Why?
Answer:
You need to run the User Profile to SharePoint Full Synchronization timer job to bring data from a user’s User Profile into the sites that they visit.

Question: My users get “there was an error creating your personal site” and no further details when I try to create a My Site, what happened?
Answer:
Check whether there is a root site collection on your Web App. You need this in order for Self Service Site Creation to function properly.

Question: I have two web apps, one legacy and one using Claims, and the My Site Host is on the legacy web app. Can Claims users use My Sites?
Answer:
Not in this configuration. If you have multiple auth modes, in order for all users to use the same My Site Host you need to have it on a multi-auth Web App.

Question: How can I customize the My Network page?
Answer:
As an end user, you can’t. This page exists on the My Site Host, which is shared with all users, and as a result individual users are unable to edit it. You are the owner of your My Site (under the My Content link) and you have full control over that page.

Question: People’s pictures look weird in the noteboard and other places, what is going on?
Answer:
After upgrading you need to run the update-spprofilephotostore cmdlet. This will convert users’ photos to three thumbnails that are the correct size for the various web parts and controls. It is also possible for users of 14 to set their pictures through the OM to pictures that are the wrong size. This situation can be solved with the same cmdlet.

Question: I had a theme on my My Site, but after upgrade it’s gone. What happened?
Answer:
Themes do not upgrade from 2007 to 2010. There are many themes available in Site Settings.

Question: I chose to use Visual Upgrade and leave all my sites with their old Look and Feel, but the My Sites changed their Look and Feel anyway. Why?
Answer:
Due to deep changes in the My Sites for 2010, My Sites and My Site Hosts will upgrade to the new Look and Feel no matter what.

Advertisements