In SPSCairo, one of the attendees had a problem with the marquee in SharePoint that it is not moving, I know its basic but I promised to write this post for him, because he was the only one that had this concern.

I did not do anything more than what is required to write the marquee tag and put text in between and all that was in the “Page Content” field in a page, not even “Content Editor” WP, no need cause I used the “Edit Source” to insert HTML tag.

I believe that you did not enable the animation in the Internet Options, if you open “Internet Explorer” and go to “Tools”, then click “Internet Options”; under “Multimedia” category, as below select the “Play animations in webpages”, I tried on and off and if it is not enabled, obviously the marquee stopped working.

I tried on both SharePoint 2010 & 2013 – it is the same html marquee tag that I wrote and on both enabling the animation from Internet Explorer is a must.

the marquee tag I wrote; <marquee>this is in SharePoint 2010 .. just saying</marquee>

I wrote as below screen shot; nothing else and saved it. For SharePoint 2013;

For SharePoint 2010;

